Gov. Snyder appoints Sheriff Mioduszewski to state commission on law enforcement standards

Isabella County Sheriff Leo Mioduszewski was one of five new members appointed to the Michigan Commission on Law Enforcement Standards by Gov. Rick Snyder Thursday.

MCOLES provides leadership and support to the criminal justice community throughout Michigan.

The 17-member board, housed within the Michigan Department of State Police, sets measures for selection, employment, licensing and funding in public and private sectors of law enforcement and criminal justice, according to a news release from the state of Michigan.

“These appointees are experienced, outstanding law enforcement professionals,” Snyder said in the release. “I am confident they will continue to promote and ensure Michigan’s public safety standards.”

Mioduszewski said he was contacted by the commission and asked if he would be interested in serving on the committee. After saying yes, Mioduszewski filled out an application and underwent a background check to ensure he fit the position.

As only one of three Michigan sheriffs on the board, Mioduszewski said being asked to serve on the commission is a privilege.

“I think it’s a great honor to be appointed to that,” he said. “It’s probably the most important commission for public safety.”

As a board member, Mioduszewski will help make decisions on key responsibilities, including publishing standards and curricula for law enforcement officers, approving and supervising basic police training programs and administering law pre-enrollment testing.

Aside from his current role as Isabella County sheriff, Mioduszewski has served as sergeant of the Central Michigan University Police Department and was an officer with the Mancelona Police Department.

He holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration and communications and a master’s degree in public administration, both from CMU. Mioduszewski also attended the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s National Academy.

In his new position, Mioduszewski will represent the Michigan Sheriffs’ Association and will replace Ingham County sheriff Gene Wrigglesworth.

Also chosen among Mioduszewski was Petoskey Director of Public Safety John Calabrese, Washtenaw County Sheriff Jerry Clayton, Livonia Legislative Director for Police Officers Association of Michigan Kenneth Grabowski and Frankenmuth Police Chief Donald Mawer.

With the exception of Mawer, appointees will serve four-year terms that expire Nov. 1, 2016. Mawer will serve until Nov. 1, 2013.


Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in Central Michigan Life.