Community and campus events through Oct. 14


Thursday, Sept. 22

Why STEM Lacks Diversity - Fall 2022 Physics Seminar Series

3 to 5 p.m. 

Dow Science 208, moves to Dow 102 at 4 p.m.

*Poster presentations followed by guest speaker 

Friday, Sept. 23 

Hispanic Heritage Month: Arroz Around the World 

3 to 4 p.m.

Wesley Church 

*Food tasting event with rice from five different Latin American countries 

Saturday, Sept. 24 

Hispanic Heritage Month: Low-Rider Car Show, Music and Food Tasting

12 to 3 p.m. 

Wesley Church

*First 90 students to register on Engage Central get free meal tickets 

Sunday, Sept. 25

BBQ Around The World ISO Welcome Event

2 p.m.

Island Park West Shelter

Vegetarian + Halal options included

*$10 entry fee

Monday, Sept. 26

Bridgerton Trivia 

9 p.m.

The Cabin

Tuesday, Sept. 27

Humane Animal Treatment Society Pop-Up Vaccine and Microchip Clinic

6 to 8 p.m.

HATS Health Clinic

*Walk-in, no appointment needed

Wednesday, Sept. 28 

Conversations that Matter: Has Education Become Political? 

5 to 7 p.m. 

Powers Ballroom 

*Free and open to all who RSVP; dinner provided

Thursday, Sept. 29

Friends of the Veterans Memorial Library Annual Book Sale

10 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.

Veterans Memorial Library 

Friday, Sept. 30

15th Annual Walt Whitman Leaves of Grass Reading

7:36 a.m.

Fabiano Botanical Gardens 

*Open to public

Monday, Oct. 3

Advanced Exploration in DEI -- Fall 2023 pilot launch

online, self-directed

Registration Required

*Free and open to CMU community

Tuesday, Oct. 4 

Native Farmer' Market

10 a.m. to 2 p.m. 

Corner of Broadway and Leaton Rd. 

Wednesday, Oct. 5

Clarke Historical Library Speaker Series Presents: Susan J. Bandes

7 to 8 p.m.

Charles V. Park Library

*The event is free and open to the public

Thursday, Oct. 6

Hispanic Heritage Month Paper Picado Activity (Mexican Decorative Folk Art)

6 to 7 p.m.

Bovee University Center Room 108

Friday, Oct. 7

Boos & Booze on the Putting Island

5:30 p.m.

Buck's Run Golf Course

*Register at Bucksrun.com or call (989) 773-6830. 

Monday, Oct. 10 

National Indigenous People's Day 2022

All day 

Plachta Auditorium or Opperman Auditorium 

*Free and open to all 

Tuesday, Oct. 11 

Soup & Substance: Coming Out Day Special Topic

12 to 1 p.m. 

Bovee University Center Rotunda 

*Free and open to all who RSVP  

Wednesday, Oct. 12

Versiti Blood Drive

1 to 4 p.m.

Mount Pleasant Discovery Museum 

Thursday, Oct. 13

League of Women Voters Candidate Forum

6:30 to 9 p.m.

Mount Pleasant City Hall

*Open to public

Friday, Oct. 14

Glow in the Park 5k 

Check in for runners: 6 to 7:15 p.m. Run Starts: 7:30 p.m.

Island Park 

*Registration required

Share: