Crystal Bradford named to all-MAC first team, men's Kyle Randall named to all-MAC second team

The Mid-American Conference released its annual All-MAC men's and women's teams recently, and Central Michigan has six representatives combined.

Sophomore guard Crystal Bradford received the highest honor, being named to the women's All-MAC First Team, her teammate sophomore guard Jessica Green earned All-MAC Third Team and senior guard Brandie Baker and senior forward Jessica Schroll were honorable mentions.

Bradford was joined by Akron's Rachel Tecca, Miami (Ohio) Courtney Osborn and Toledo duo Andola Dortch and Naama Shafir. Bradford narrowly lost the MAC Player of the Year Award to Tecca.

The women's four honorees ties for the most in the conference with Toledo.

The men's side, the dangerous backcourt of senior guard Kyle Randall and freshman guard Chris Fowler were honored.

Randall was named to the All-MAC Second Team, while Fowler was named to the All-MAC Freshman Team. The two helped CMU end a 10-game losing streak during break and nearly went the second round of the MAC Tournament.

Randall was joined by Akron's Demetrius Treadwell, Ball State's Jauwan Scaife, A'uston Calhoun of Bowling Green and Broncos' Shayne Whittington.

D.J. Cooper of Ohio, Rian Pearson of Toledo, Zeke Marshall of Akron Javon McCrea of Buffalo and Chris Evans of Kent State were named to the first team.

On the men's side that award, along with Coach of the Year have not been announced, but the Defensive Player of the Year, Sixth Man of the Year and Freshman of the Year went to Akron's Zeke Marshall and Western Michigan's Darius Paul and David Brown, respectively.

Men's basketball Coach and Player of the Year will be announced today.


Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in Central Michigan Life.