CMU’s WMHW-FM and MHTV named radio and television stations of the year


Central Michigan University's WMHW-FM and Moore Hall TV were named radio and television Stations of the Year by the Broadcast Education Association.

The radio station won the BEA's Student Media Advisers Signature Station award. MHTV won the Michigan Association of Broadcasters' College Television Station of the year award for the fourteenth consecutive year.

WMHW has won the award for the first time in CMU's radio broadcasting history, designating the station as the top student radio station in the nation.

Taylor senior Julie Sikora, the student manager for the station, will accept the award and $200 check at the BEA annual convention in Las Vegas. 

At the Great Lakes Broadcasting Conference and Expo, MHTW won first place for college television in the News Feature, Mini-Documentary and Digital Media Experience categories. They also swept the category for Talk/Scripted Show, taking first and second place, and honorable mention designations.

The students were also awarded second place in the Daily NewsCast/Sportscast and News Features categories, and honorable mention in the category of Current Events Program.


Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in Central Michigan Life.