Defensive end makes Hendricks Award Final Watch List


Senior defensive lineman Joe Ostman poses for a portrait on Oct. 25 at the Indoor Athletic Complex. 

Of the 27 players on the Hendricks Award Final Watch List, Central Michigan football senior defensive end Joe Ostman is one of them.

The award is given each year to the top defensive end in the country. Ostman, a captain for the Chippewas, has 11 sacks this season, good for third in the nation. Northern Illinois sophomore Sutton Smith leads the way with 13 sacks, followed by Ball State senior Anthony Winbush, who has 11.5 sacks this year. 

Ostman, at 6-foot-3, 255 pounds, also has 47 tackles, 15.5 tackles for a loss and three forced fumbles. 

Former Michigan linebacker LaMarr Woodley is the only player from a college in Michigan to win the award. 

The award is named after Ted Hendricks, who is a member of the College Football Hall of Fame and Pro Football Hall of Fame. 

If Ostman takes home the trophy, he would be the first player to do so from a non-Power-Five conference. 

The winner will be announced on Dec. 6. 

The Hendricks Award Final Watch List includes: 

Dorance Armstrong Jr. (Kansas) 

Nick Bosa (Ohio State) 

Maxx Crosby (Eastern Michigan) 

Da’Sean Downey (Massachusetts) 

Duke Ejofor (Wake Forest) 

Carl Granderson (Wyoming) 

Marquis Haynes (Ole Miss) 

Justin Lawler (SMU) 

Joe Ostman (Central Michigan) 

Malik Reed (Nevada) 

Tee Sims (Appalachian State) 

Montez Sweat (Ole Miss) 

Anthony Winbush (Ball State) 

Oshane Ximines (Old Dominion) 

Zach Allen (Boston College) 

Bradley Chubb (N.C. State) 

Marcus Davenport (UTSA) 

Landis Durham (Texas A&M) 

Clelin Ferrell (Clemson) 

Trent Harris (Miami) 

Jalen Jelks (Oregon) 

Marcus Martin (Slippery Rock) 

Jonathan Petersen (San Diego) 

Ja’Von Rolland-Jones (Arkansas State) 

Sutton Smith (Northern Illinois) 

Kenny Willekes (Michigan State)

Chase Winovich (Michigan) 


Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in Central Michigan Life.