Former CMU offensive assistant Matt LaFleur becomes Green Bay Packers head coach

Former Central Michigan offensive assistant and Mount Pleasant native Matt LaFleur became the newest coach of the Green Bay Packers on Jan. 7. (Photo Credit: Mark Humphrey / Associated Press)

Matt LaFleur, a former offensive assistant for the Central Michigan football program, has become the head coach of the Green Bay Packers.

He takes over from Mike McCarthy who was the head coach from 2006-18. McCarthy finished his tenure with the Packers at 125-77-2. 

LaFleur, a graduate of Mount Pleasant High School, was an offensive assistant for the Chippewas from 2004-05 under Brian Kelly. Kelly is now the head coach at Notre Dame. 

Before joining CMU, LaFleur attended Western Michigan University from 1998-99 where he played on the football team as a wide receiver. He then transferred to Saginaw Valley State from 2000-02 to play quarterback for the Cardinals. They made three consecutive Division II playoff appearances with LaFleur under center.

During his time with the Cardinals, LeFleur was named the teams Most Valuable Player for back-to-back seasons from 2001-02. In 2001, LeFleur held the program record for passing yards in a single season with 2,578 passing yards. The record has since been broken and is currently held by Jonathon Jennings (2013) with 3,440 yards.

For short periods of time, LaFleur played in the National Indoor Football League with the Omaha Beef (2003) and the Billings Outlaws (2004). 

Here is a list of NFL coaches LeFleur assisted:

  • Gary Kubiak — Houston Texans (2008-09) 
  • Mike Shanahan — Washington Redskins (2010-13) 
  • Dan Quinn — Atlanta Falcons (2015-16)
  • Sean McVay — Los Angeles Rams (2017)
  • Mike Vrabel — Tennessee Titans (2018)

LeFleur's younger brother Mike LeFleur is currently the wide receivers coach/passing game specialist for the San Fransisco 49ers.

When the head coaching job for CMU became available before the start of the 2015 campaign, LeFleur did not apply for the position. The job was given to John Bonamego, who has since been fired.