Click here for COVID-19 updates affecting the campus community

SGA elects nine senators at Sept. 20 meeting

Newly-elected SGA Senators take oaths at the Sept. 20 meeting.

CMU's Student Government Association organized its Fall 2021 senate during its Sept. 20 meeting. Additionally, SGA members elected a senate leader and a speaker of the house

After SGA Vice President Dylan Baker called the meeting to order, senate candidates gave short speeches describing their credentials, leadership experience and their hopes for the new year.

SGA members elected the following nine senators in a slate vote:

  • Sarah Bidgood
  • Nolan Camoo
  • Gabby Hugo
  • Lauren Hull
  • Taylor Idema
  • Nova Moore
  • Theophilus Nkansah
  • Keely Rowe
  • Christian Toney

Stephanie Venn was elected speaker of the house and Nolan Camoo was re-elected to serve as senate leader for his second year. 

As the senate leader, some of Camoo's main responsibilities include running senate meetings and offering support for other SGA members. 

“(Senate Leaders are) a support system for each senator, because they each represent a different demographics,” Camoo said. “Encouraging senators to bring legislation forward, but also supporting them and helping them figure out what's the best way to write it and what's going to give them the best chance of passing.”

Senators at the meeting expressed many changes they hope to enact this year, including a more accessible and sustainable campus, better resources for international students, and more freshman involvement in SGA.

“I'm excited to help everyone on my cabinet accomplish their goals to re-engage the student body this year since COVID is not as restricting as it was last year,” Baker said. “The purpose of SGA is to make (campus) a more equitable place for all students. So if you have an idea, get involved in SGA. If you don't directly want to get involved, but you want to see change, you can reach out to those in SGA.”