Click here for COVID-19 updates affecting the campus community

New Title IX advisory board appointed by President Davies

CMU President Robert Davies gives a statement during the Board of Trustee formal meeting on Dec. 6 in the Presidents Conference Room.

A Presidential Title IX Advisory Board, which will aim to continue the fight against sexual assault, has been appointed by Central Michigan University President Robert Davies.

The board, which will report directly to the president, is meant to provide advice on a range of issues including training, education, support services, prevention programming and resources.

The newly-appointed board consists of several students, as well as representatives from SAPA, the Center for Community Counseling and Development, CMU faculty and CMU Police Department. 

"This team will help develop training curriculum and a campus resource/support team for complainants and respondents," Davies said in an open letter to the CMU community, published by Central Michigan life last semester. 

The board will meet for the first time this month to set priorities and discuss initiatives for the year. 

"We will establish an aggressive timeline for (the board's) work as we cannot wait or delay," Davies said. "Sexual assault and misconduct cannot, will not, be tolerated in our campus community."

Katherine Lasher, CMU Title IX coordinator and executive director of the Office of Civil Rights and Institutional Equity, will serve as chair of the board. 

Additional members of the Presidential Title IX Advisory Board:

  • Bethany Brown, assistant director, BSN program.
  • Australyah Coleman, student, president, NAACP CMU chapter.
  • Joe Finney, assistant director, Student Conduct.
  • Cristy Freese, executive associate athletic director, Sport Administration.
  • Rebecca Hayes, faculty, sociology, anthropology and social work.
  • Lori Hella, associate vice president, Human Resources.
  • Larry Klaus, lieutenant, CMU Police Department.
  • Michael Mamp, faculty, fashion merchandising and design.
  • Mary Martinez, deputy director, OCRIE.
  • A.T. Miller, chief diversity officer, Office of Institutional Diversity.
  • Galen Miller, student, president, Interfraternity Council President.
  • Brooke Oliver-Hempenstall, director, Sexual Aggression Services.
  • Richard Rothaus, dean, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences.
  • Erica Peters, student ombuds officer.
  • Lyndi Rose, vice president, Student Government Association.
  • Michelle Veith, associate director, Residence Life.
  • Jennifer Werries, clinical director, Center for Community Counseling and Development.
  • Rachel Wilson, graduate student.