Quinten Dormady accepts invitation to play in Hula Bowl


Central Michigan quarterback Quinten Dormady attempts to pass against Bowling Green Oct. 19 Doyle L. Perry Stadium in Bowling Green.

Quinten Dormady has earned another opportunity to show his skills in front of professional scouts. 

Central Michigan's senior quarterback has accepted an invitation to play in the All-Star Hula Bowl Classic, an all-star game that showcases athletes from all levels across the NCAA as well as players representing Australia, Canada, Japan, Australia, the United Kingdom and Polynesian players with ties to the island of Ohau, where the game is played. 

The Hula Bowl announced Dormady had accepted an invitation to play in the game in a tweet Friday night:

Dormady transferred to Central Michigan from Houston in the spring of 2019 and secured the starting quarterback position from coach Jim McElwain through his experience and leadership. 

The native of Boerne, Texas, started his college career at Tennessee before transferring to Houston. After suffering an injury at Houston, he was granted a redshirt year and transferred to CMU. 

Dormady started 10 games in his one season with the Chippewas. After leaving the 61-0 loss to Wisconsin due to a knee injury on Sept. 7, Dormady missed the next four games before regaining the starting job when junior quarterback David Moore was handed a year-long suspension after testing positive for a banned substance. 

Dormady threw for 2,312 yards, 14 touchdowns and nine interceptions with Central Michigan. He was 6-4 as a starter and played a pivotal role in the Chippewas' Mid-American Conference West Division championship and appearance in the New Mexico Bowl. 

However, the Chippewas suffered losses in both the MAC championship game, 26-21, to Miami (Ohio) and the New Mexico Bowl, 48-11, to San Diego State.

Former NFL coaches Mike Smith and Rex Ryan will coach the two competing teams, with Smith leading the Anai (land) squad while Ryan will coach the Kai (water) team. 

The Hula Bowl is set for 10:30 p.m. ET on Jan. 26 at Aloah Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii.